Happy Birthday Walt Whitman

Today marks the birthday of the late, great poet Walt Whitman. To celebrate his life and work I’ve thought it be apt to share a poem of his. Katie Hale also posted one of his most famous poems on this blog not long ago. ‘O Captain! My Captain!’ . To view this post click here.

When I Heard the Learn’d Astronomer

When I heard the learn’d astronomer,
When the proofs, the figures, were ranged in columns before me,
When I was shown the charts and diagrams, to add, divide, and measure them,
When I sitting heard the astronomer where he lectured with much applause in the lecture-room,
How soon unaccountable I became tired and sick,
Till rising and gliding out I wander’d off by myself,
In the mystical moist night-air, and from time to time,
Look’d up in perfect silence at the stars.

About wordsthroughtheglass
Dominique Dunne was born and raised in the heart London; she completed a BA in poetry and film at Bath Spa University, 2011. Since then she has been travelling, working with Literary Festivals and been part of ‘The Barbican Young Poets’ scheme. Some poems featured are part of a growing collection entitled ‘Words Through the Glass’ which she hopes to get published one day. Alongside poetry, Dominique loves kayaking, sloths and winning at Scrabble.

Comments are closed.

