Waiting in the Small Hours

Tonight’s Good Night Gift is admittedly a little self-indulgent.

The Barbican Young Filmmakers recently made a short film of my poem, ‘Waiting in the Small Hours’. It’s a poem about dreams and the space between waking and sleeping. (You can read the poem by itself if you want, as I’ve posted it underneath the video, but the film really brings it to life.)

The film itself is full of gorgeous shots, and is brilliantly put together. A magnificent job by Barbican Young Filmmakers. Much thanks and praise.

Enjoy, and sleep well.

 

Waiting in the Small Hours
by Katie Hale

In the underbelly of night, I count seconds
by the clock’s mechanical heartbeat,
hoping they will transmutate into a dream
of horses’ hooves on the cobblestones of a dead city,
with a soft cotton duvet swirling in the industrial smoke.
Any dream will do, so I hum to the metronome pulse
beating time into a line like a piano teacher’s ruler:

Tick.    Tick     – and every tock is a cross
disapproving my unshuttered eyes. And still I lie
awake. I strain to lighten the darkness, shade by shade,
as birdsong and train-rumbles summon the morning.

Only in the cobweb-grey hours of dust-bin men
and Canary Wharf commuters, only then
I slump into dawn, and dream of empty platforms.

Comments are closed.

